NASCAR & Auto Racing

Jeff Gordon is media’s preseason pick

Jeff Gordon is the preseason pick to win the 2008 Sprint Cup championship in voting conducted on

More than 200 people who cover the sport voted and picked Gordon over Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jimmie Johnson, the two-time defending champion. Tony Stewart was third in the voting.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished fourth in the preseason balloting. Earnhardt Jr. is the only driver forecast to make this year’s Chase for the Sprint Cup who didn’t make last year’s. He supplants former Dale Earnhardt Inc. teammate Martin Truex Jr. in the top 12.

Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards, Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer and Jeff Burton rounded out the 12 preseason Chase choices.