NASCAR & Auto Racing

Smokey Yunick Award will go to Penske

Roger Penske, whose teams have won 20 national championships, will receive the Smokey Yunick Award during prerace ceremonies at the Bank of America 500 at Lowe’s Motor Speedway on Oct. 13.

The award was instituted by Yunick, the legendary racing mechanic, in 1997 to recognize an individual whose lifelong efforts have had a major impact on the motorsports industry.

“Smokey wanted this award to honor those who rose from humble beginnings and through hard work and dedication made a major impact on auto racing,” said Lowe’s Motor Speedway President H.A. “Humpy” Wheeler, who will present the award.

Penske’s teams have won 134 races and 12 championships in Indy Car racing, with 14 victories in the Indianapolis 500. Two victories by Kurt Busch this season give Penske 60 victories as a car owner in NASCAR’s top series.

Previous winners of the award are Junior Johnson, Ken Squier, Bill Simpson, Ralph Moody, Banjo Matthews, Bud Moore, Cotton Owens, Junie Donlavey, Jim Hunter and Glen and Leonard Wood.