NASCAR & Auto Racing

Sorenson's crew chief stalking

a repeat, even if his driver isn't

Reed Sorenson will not be able to replicate his NASCAR Busch Series win of a week ago, but his crew chief could.

Sorenson, who won last week’s race at St. Louis, is giving up his seat in the No. 41 Dodge owned by Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates to development driver Scott Lagasse Jr. this weekend.

Lagasse, however, will have the benefit of crew chief Brad Parrott guiding the team in Saturday’s Kroger 200 at O’Reilly Raceway Park in Clermont, Ind. (8 p.m. Eastern, ESPN2).

In four starts together, Parrott and Sorenson have one win, one top-five and three top-10 finishes.

The No. 41 team, which has used four different drivers this season, has also moved up 10 positions in owner points over the past four races, sitting in 15th place, 93 outside the top 10.

“Since we hooked up four races ago, we’ve been pretty consistent. We haven’t been a winning car every weekend, but we have been consistently getting better,” Sorenson said of his pairing with Parrott.

“I feel like we can get our program a lot better by the time we come back here next year.”

Parrott said he told Gannassi officials he could win with any driver on the roster.

“Give me the right cars, give me the right people and I’ll do my best to put everybody together,” he said. Parrott was crew chief this season when rookie Juan Pablo Montoya won a Busch race at Mexico City.


  • NASCAR on Wednesday penalized crew chiefs Doug Chouinard and Chuck Meyers for rule violations last weekend at Gateway International Raceway.
  • Chouinard, crew chief of the No. 03 Toyota driven by Todd Bodine, was fined $5,000 for a throttle plate that was too thin. Meyers, crew chief of the No. 1 Chevrolet driven by J.J. Yeley, was fined $500 for having open areas cut out of the fuel cell foam.

  • Deac McCaskill, the reigning Late Model Stock Division champion at Southern National Raceway Park in Lucama, N.C., is scheduled to make his Series debut for Evernham Motorsports this weekend in the No. 9 Dodge.
  • The Racer’s Group will enter sports car star Andy Lally in the Aug. 11 race at Watkins Glen, N.Y., in the No. 47 Ford owned by Wood Brothers/JTG Racing.
  •   Comments