Filing opens for city, school races in Stanislaus County

Candidate filing has started for several city council, school board and health board seats up for election in Stanislaus County on Nov. 4.

Interested people have until Aug. 8 to enter a race, or Aug. 13 if the incumbent is not running. They can get the needed paperwork for the councils from city clerks’ offices and for other contests from the Stanislaus County Elections Office.

Four local measures have qualified for the ballot so far. Turlock voters will consider switching to district council elections and adding half a percentage point to the sales tax for street repairs. Oakdale voters will be asked to renew a sales tax increase at the same rate to help fund city services. Newman will decide on an urban growth boundary.

The election also will feature races for governor and other statewide offices, the state Assembly and Senate, and the U.S. House of Representatives. The top two candidates from the June 3 primary are running.

The ballot does not include council elections in Modesto and Ceres, which hold them in odd-numbered years, as do many school, irrigation and other district boards. Also, elected posts in county government were decided in June.

The deadline to register to vote in November is Oct. 20.

As of 5 p.m. Monday, these candidates had taken out papers to run (unless otherwise noted, they have not completed the filings):

Turlock: Michael Brem and Gary Soiseth for mayor; for council, incumbents William DeHart and Forrest White and challengers Matthew Jacob, Donald Babadalir and Sergio Alvarado

Riverbank: Council incumbents Cal Campbell and Leanne Jones Cruz

Hughson: Incumbent Mayor Matt Beekman and council members George Carr and Harold Hill

Patterson: Incumbent Mayor Luis Molina and council candidates Troy McMahan, Dennis McCord, Carlos Gustavo Fierros and Frank Daras

Newman: Incumbent Ed Katen and Donald Hutchins for mayor; Casey Graham for council

Waterford: Councilman Mike Van Winkle has filed to run for mayor. Incumbent council members Ken Krause and Joshua Whitfield have filed for re-election.

Oakdale: Mayor Pat Paul and council members Farrell Jackson and Michael Patrick Brennan are up for election. No information was available Monday.

Yosemite Community College District: Incumbent Anne DeMartini in Area 4. Areas 1 and 2 also are up for election.

Hughson Unified School District: Incumbent Randall Heckman in Area 4. Areas 2 and 5 also are up for election.

Newman-Crows Landing Unified School District: Areas 2 and 5 are up for election; no candidates as of Monday.

Salida Union School District: Incumbent Ivan Wyeth and Steve Cleek in Area 1, Jeffrey Hook in Area 2 and incumbent Catie Englebright in Area 5

Stanislaus Union School District: Incumbent Gilbert Jackson in Area 5. Areas 1 and 3 also are up for election.

Waterford Unified School District: Incumbents Tim Bomgardner in Area 2, Sheila Collins in Area 3 and Jim Weaver in Area 5

Del Puerto Health Care District: Incumbent Harold Hill; three seats up for election.

Oak Valley Hospital District: Incumbents Wendell Chun and Daniel Cummins; three seats available.

Westside Community Health Care District: Incumbent George Schmidt in Zone 2