Local FFA members show well

Several teams and individuals from Stanislaus and nearby counties had strong showings at the National FFA Organization's annual convention.

The event, Oct. 24-27 in Indianapolis, showcased skills in agriculture and related pursuits.

The region's results:

A team from Escalon High School placed fourth in agricultural sales. Members were Kristen Steves, Katie Veenstra, Brittany Diniz and Tommy Adrian.

An Atwater High team placed eighth in dairy cattle evaluation. Members were Frank Azevedo, Brittney Day, Michael Fagundes and Loren Migliazzo.

A Turlock High team was ninth in dairy food knowledge. Members were Adie Amador, Erin Fiorini, Ashley Hollis and Michael Kearley.

A Davis High team placed 11th in poultry judging. Members were Steven Thompson, Aaron Hardrick, Blair Pope and Jose Godinez.

Alison King of Atwater finished first in creed speaking, which involves delivering the FFA creed from memory and responding to questions.

Christopher Lampley, a recent Ceres High graduate, won the Agricultural Mechanics Energy Systems Entrepreneurship/Placement Proficiency award. It recognizes skills of young people who have gone to work in mechanics, in this case hydraulic systems.

The American Degree, recognizing overall achievement in FFA, was awarded to: Frank Aguilera, Orestimba; Elizabeth Allison, Beyer; Dominick Amador, Turlock; Ryan Amaral, Pitman; Krista Anderson, Mariposa; Brian Azevedo, Gustine; Lance Azevedo, Ceres; Kyle Beeman, Sonora; Clay Boschi, Turlock; John Burleson, Ripon; Ross Burner, Oakdale; Mindy Burris, Hughson; Richard Chapman, Mariposa; Michelle Crownover, Pitman; Chad Egling, Le Grand; Melissa Garcia, Los Banos; Anna-Lisa Giannini, Calaveras; Jacob Gisler, Mariposa; Amanda Hendrickson, Los Banos; Amy Hunter, Downey; Michael Kleiber, Golden Valley; Kari Kronberg, Hilmar; Michael Marsh, Tracy; Phillip McGee, Davis; Marianne Mendoza, Calaveras; Nathaniel Minton, Gustine; Caitlyn Morehart, Pitman; Megan Nunes, Gustine; Amanda Pombo, Tracy; Clarissa Rowley, Pitman; Sam Silva, Le Grand; Sara Souza, Patterson; Anastasia Stuyt, Escalon; Nicholas Stuyt, Mariposa; Tiffany Tchouboukjian, Beyer; Shannon Vandenberg, Dos Palos; Spencer Veldstra, Escalon; Matthew Walters, Ceres; and Shelby West, Pitman.