<![CDATA[Community Columns |]]> http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/ en-us Tue, 30 Sep 2014 14:47:19 PDT http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss McClatchy Interactive's Escenic Tue, 30 Sep 2014 14:47:19 PDT Community Columns 60 bclark@modbee.com I shoot; I served; I grieve ... now I want to talk about guns http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article177440361.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 07 Oct 2017 10:49:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article177440361.html
Legendary principal Tom Parker turned around Turlock High http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article153765909.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Thu, 01 Jun 2017 08:27:05 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article153765909.html
Need a smart companion? Alexa won’t leave you alone http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article153618489.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Thu, 01 Jun 2017 12:59:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article153618489.html
Sheriff isn’t always such a tough guy http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article143203399.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 08 Apr 2017 15:46:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article143203399.html
State’s current plan for river flows spells disaster for our region http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article139157638.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 17 Mar 2017 10:58:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article139157638.html
Why build pipelines to the past when we create a new future? http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article138661978.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Wed, 15 Mar 2017 11:17:57 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article138661978.html
When you’re sitting at a traffic light, think of Doug Carmody http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article134659934.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 24 Feb 2017 18:34:00 PST

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article134659934.html
Finished mud race, didn’t Facebook it http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article125940944.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sat, 14 Jan 2017 13:35:00 PST

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article125940944.html
Parents hold the key to raising children who want to do well in school http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article123860879.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 30 Dec 2016 14:15:00 PST

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article123860879.html
Opioids abuse kills an American every 16 minutes http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article123708804.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Thu, 29 Dec 2016 20:20:03 PST

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article123708804.html
Larry Byrd: A fight for now, a fight for our future http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article121625727.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sun, 18 Dec 2016 06:22:40 PST

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article121625727.html
Where else can you get all our parks for $10? http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article121395283.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 16 Dec 2016 14:05:36 PST

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article121395283.html
Judge me by what I’ve done in Congress, not my feelings about Donald Trump http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article94019727.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Sun, 07 Aug 2016 02:43:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article94019727.html
Burchell Fountain gave Modesto character and beauty, but now it’s gone http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article93834252.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 05 Aug 2016 13:49:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article93834252.html
Why have we forsaken Kennedy’s vision for feeding the world? http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article93940392.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Fri, 05 Aug 2016 10:27:30 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article93940392.html
Treatment of some veterans is radioactive http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article88447137.html#storylink=rss The government exposed many sailors and their ships to radiation from nuclear explosions

Those who later served aboard those ships were also at risk for cancers

But unless they were at the blast site, the government won’t provide any help

Click to Continue »]]>
Sun, 10 Jul 2016 10:57:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article88447137.html
Mayor reflects on Turlock’s ‘Year of Reform’ http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article87962712.html#storylink=rss Gary Soiseth cites new debt management, fee structures among accomplishments

City also passed stringent campaign finance reforms

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 06 Jul 2016 10:10:52 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article87962712.html
Searching for what is true http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article86815622.html#storylink=rss Finding solutions to our most vexing problems require facts

We can’t confront modern issues unless we are willing to face facts

Search for answers to climate change, homelessness lead Bee visiting editors to bigger issues

Click to Continue »]]>
Wed, 29 Jun 2016 21:42:59 PDT http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article86815622.html
What’s happening to our forests is an emergency, President Obama http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article85731607.html#storylink=rss There were 6 times more big fires in 2015 than in 2014, and this year is starting even worse

Tree mortality is contributing to raging wildfires; California needs help to address the problem

The House has acted to provide more funding, but the law is languishing in the Senate

Click to Continue »]]>
Fri, 24 Jun 2016 07:08:42 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article85731607.html
William Bishop: Forcing president to use certain words distorts the message http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article85526712.html#storylink=rss Click to Continue »]]> Thu, 23 Jun 2016 11:01:07 PDT http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article85526712.html If only president had seen Yosemite as we do http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article84360092.html#storylink=rss He could have waited for an hour to get in at Highway 120 entrance

He could have dodged those pulling into and out of the overlooks

He could have skipped Glacier Point and Tuolumne Meadows because who has time?

Click to Continue »]]>
Sat, 18 Jun 2016 07:51:00 PDT

]]>
http://www.modbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/community-columns/article84360092.html