August 14, 2014

Stanislaus County candidates are set for November election

The candidates for city and school district elections are now set in Stanislaus County.

The Nov. 4 ballot is set for city and school district races in Stanislaus County, which also has numerous unopposed candidates.

Patterson has the most crowded field, with four people running for mayor and six seeking a pair of council seats. Turlock, Riverbank, Waterford and Newman also will have city races. Oakdale and Hughson will not, because the number of candidates equaled the number of seats up for election.

Filing closed last Friday for seats where an incumbent is running and was extended to Wednesday for other races. Here is how it shakes out:

Turlock: Michael Brem and Gary Soiseth are vying for mayor; incumbent John Lazar is not running. Council members Forrest White and William DeHart face challengers Matthew Jacob, Donald Babadalir and Sergio Alvarado.

Riverbank: Council members Cal Campbell and Leanne Jones Cruz face Larry King, who was not on a candidate list posted last Friday.

Oakdale: Mayor Pat Paul is unopposed. Cherilyn Bairos and J.L. McCarty were the only candidates for the council seats to be vacated at year’s end by Farrell Jackson and Michael Brennan.

Hughson: Mayor Matt Beekman and council members George Carr and Harold Hill will get new terms without opposition.

Waterford: Councilman Mike Van Winkle is the only candidate for mayor; incumbent Charlie Goeken is not running. Incumbents Ken Krause and Joshua Whitfield will square off against challenger Keith Self in the race for two council seats.

Patterson: Mayor Luis Molina is being challenged by council members Sheree Lustgarten and Dominic Farinha, both in the middle of their four-year terms, and by Ralph Arredondo. The race for two council seats drew incumbents Larry Buehner and Deborah Novelli and challengers Troy McMahan, Dennis McCord, Carlos Gustavo Fierros and John Stobb.

Newman: Incumbent Ed Katen is unopposed for mayor. Incumbent council members Nick Candea and Donald Hutchins face challenger Casey Graham.

Yosemite Community College District: The three incumbents are unopposed – Lynn Martin in Area 1, Don Viss in Area 2 and Anne DeMartini in Area 4.

Hughson Unified School District: Incumbents Rick Applegate, Randall Heckman and Cindy Cunningham-Gipp are unopposed.

Newman-Crows Landing Unified School District: Incumbent Paul Wallace and challenger Alfredo Esquivez are running in Area 2. Vernon Snodderly is unopposed in Area 5.

Salida Union School District: Incumbent Ivan Wyeth faces Steve Cleek in Area 1. Incumbent Virginia Berry is running against Jeffrey Hook in Area 2. Incumbent Catie Englebright is opposed by Nanci Fox in Area 5.

Stanislaus Union School District: Michael Tognotti is unopposed in Area 1. No candidates filed in Area 3. Incumbent Gilbert Jackson is unopposed in Area 5.

Waterford Unified School District: Three incumbents are unopposed – Tim Bomgardner in Area 2, Sheila Collins in Area 3 and Jim Weaver in Area 5.

Del Puerto Health Care District: Donna Sesock-Miller and incumbents Harold Hill and Steven Pittson are unopposed for the three available seats.

Oak Valley Hospital District: Incumbents Wendell Chun, Daniel Cummins and Edward Chock are unopposed.

Westside Community Health Care District: Incumbent George Schmidt is unopposed in Zone 2.

The ballot also will have races for statewide offices, the state Senate and Assembly and the U.S. House of Representatives, along with a few propositions. The candidates were chosen in the June 3 primary.

Four local measures will go before voters. Turlock will consider a sales tax increase for street repairs and a switch to district council elections. Oakdale will vote on continuing a sales tax increase for city services. Newman could set an urban growth boundary.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos