May 31, 2014

Modestan leads Army tank squad to 2nd place finish

Success & Service honors individuals and organizations that achieve or enhance their communities.

Kenneth J. Hara , a Stanislaus Superior Court child support commissioner, has been named the the Judicial Partner of the Year for the state. The award, given by the Child Support Directors Association of California, annually recognizes a commissioner for positive collaboration, innovation and resourcefulness in working with the local Department of Child Support Services. Hara helped create a special calendar each month for recipients of national child support parent employment demonstration grants, which provide job training to unemployed parents in an effort to help them meet their child support payment requirements.

Beyer grad leads tank team to 2nd place

Austin Frank , a 2011 Beyer High School graduate now serving in the Army, led a tank crew that finished second in the Sullivan Cup Best Tank competition at Fort Benning, Ga., earlier this month.

Frank is stationed in South Korea but returned stateside for the event and led the four-person crew competing for 1st Battalion, 12th Calvary Regiment, 3rd Brigade, 1st Cavalry Division based out of Fort Hood, Texas. With 17 tanks and crews in the event, they finished behind only a host team from Fort Benning. The event is named for Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan, the Army’s 32nd chief of staff.

Frank returned to his duties in South Korea, where he has served since January, when the competition concluded May 16. His mother, Kim Martin of Modesto, was able to travel to Georgia to watch the events and visit with her son.

Kudos for ammo plant reuse

The Riverbank Local Redevelopment Authority earned the 2014 Base Redevelopment Excellence Award from the Association of Defense Communities for its work in redeveloping the Riverbank Industrial Complex (formerly the Riverbank Army Ammunition Plant) as it undergoes transfer from federal to local control. The Defense Community Awards program recognizes those communities, installations, public officials and military leaders demonstrating leadership, innovation and excellence.

The Army ammo plant originally operated in the 1940s as an aluminum reduction plant for military supplies. The U.S. Army took over control of the plant in the 1950s and used the site for ammunition production. In 2005, the military facility was tapped for closure in a round of the U.S. Department of Defense’s Base Realignment and Closure processes. The site was officially deactivated in 2009.

The number of businesses on the site has grown from nine to 37 with the number of employees on the site nearing 300 since the Riverbank agency took over in April 2010.

Agencies recognized

Two local public agencies and their consultation partners have been recognized for outstanding achievement in land use planning and best practices. The California Chapter Central Section of the American Planning Association has made the following awards:

• Outstanding Planning Award – Urban Design: to the city of Sonora and RBF Consulting for “Vision Sonora”
• Outstanding Planning Award – Transportation Planning: to the city of Newman and PlaceWorks for the “Newman Non-Motorized Transportation Plan”

MediAlert wins award

Turlock-based MedicAlert Foundation was awarded the 2014 CRM (customer relationship management) Excellence Award by Gartner and 1to1 Media at the Gartner Customer 360 Summit in Orlando, Fla., recently. Honored for its customer service optimization project, known as PUMA (Phenomenal Undertaking at MedicAlert), the international charity was presented the Bronze award in the Customer Service Initiative award category.

Area Sierra Club honorees

The Tuolumne Group of the Sierra Club has awarded a pair of $1,000 scholarships for the upcoming school year. The Mack Waggoner Memorial Scholarship went to Greg Jerman , a Columbia College student who will transfer to Oregon State in the fall. Megan Fiske is a repeat winner of the People for a Healthy Forest award and is pursuing a bachelor of science degree in wildlife management and conservation at Humboldt State University.

MPD service, bravery awards

The following people received awards from the Modesto Police Department for service and bravery.

• Medal of Valor: Sgt. Brian Kleiber and Officers John Wesley , Mark Ulrich , Evan Swearingen , Mark Starr , Dave Lewellen , Joseph Lamantia , Gerald Bohanan and Romel Cuellar
• Meritorious Service Award: Officers Daniel Starr and Caelli Koehler
• Distinguished Service Medal: Officer Todd Musto, Det. Ray Bennett and community service Officer John Paul Moua
•  Gerald L. Kinsey Award: Officer Frank Inacio
• Medal of Valor and the Police Leadership Award: Sgt. Robert Reyna

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos