Wuzzz Up

06/04/2014 12:00 AM

06/03/2014 3:30 PM

Film Fest awards $1,000 scholarship to teen

Film Fest Twain Harte awarded Summerville High School Connections Academy Senior Reed Holland a $1,000 scholarship to assist in his studies at Brigham Young University, where he will pursue a filmmaking curriculum.

Last year, Film Fest Twain Harte held a scaled-down event in October following the cancellation of the Labor Day event due to the effects of the Rim Fire. The Film Fest also sent a $500 donation to the Rim Fire Restoration Fund in care of the Sonora Area Foundation.

Film Fest Twain Harte is currently planning this year’s Labor Day Weekend event and is seeking quality films for presentation. Visit www.filmfesttwainharte.com for more information. Film Fest Twain Harte is a 501(c)3 California nonprofit corporation. .

Elita Hawley Scholarship

Shannen Winkles, a Summerville Union High School student from Soulsbyville, has been awarded an Elita Hawley Scholarship in the amount of $12,000 to study abroad with AFS Intercultural Programs in Chile. Winkles, daughter of Heather and Brandon Winkles, will study at a Chilean high school for the 2014-15 school year and live with a host family.

Winkles is a member of the Girl Scouts and FFA. She enjoys hiking, rock climbing and playing soccer. In the future, Winkles would like to join the Navy and become a pediatrician.

AFS participants learn how to speak another language, navigate in a different cultural context, and marshal a global perspective on issues. The Hawley Endowment Fund awards approximately $30,000 to students from Central California each year.

Elita Hawley was an AFS volunteer from Central California who dedicated years of her life to AFS.

Stanislaus Community Foundation scholarships

The Stanislaus Community Foundation and its scholarship partners awarded scholarships totaling more than $20,000 to local students for the 2014-15 academic school year.

The winners:

• Arthur & Corrine Shields Memorial Scholarship: Ritu Malhotra (University of the Pacific); Tanaeya McCoy (Utah State)
• Diane Bava Amador Scholarship: Marian Baker (Sacramento State)
• The Dr. Grant E. & Colleen S. Bare Scholarship Fund: Gregory Borba (Cal Poly)
• Dr. Larry Cooke Memorial Scholarship: Kaitlin Van Ryn (San Joaquin Valley College)
• Edward Taylor Jr. Perpetual Memorial Scholarship: Terrence Soares (San Jose State)
• The First Tee of Central Valley Scholarship: Anthony Bonales (UC Riverside); Casey Floyd (University of Northern Colorado)
• James McClatchy Bee Employees Scholarship: Raquel Flud (UCLA)
• Jane Wynne Wooley Scholarship: Daniel Cortes (UCSB)
• Judy Wiegman Scholarship: Theresa Ott (Benedictine College)
• Melinda Nielsen Sousa Scholarship: Katherine Siciliani (Humbolt State)
• Pat Maciel Lubeck Perpetual Memorial Scholarship: Monica Gonzales (UCSB)
• Virginia Azevedo Memorial Scholarship: Margaret Von Rotz (UCLA)

The scholarships are for college-bound high school seniors and current college students planning to pursue degrees including general studies, technical training programs, science, technology and engineering.

– Bee staff reports

Entertainment Videos

Join the Discussion

The Modesto Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service