Law enforcement agencies in Merced County targeted violators of the state's cell phone/texting law Tuesday and Wednesday, issuing 85 citations to people who were talking on cell phones while driving.
Officer Luis Lara, CHP spokesman, said six citations were issued to drivers who were texting while driving. During the enforcement period, two people were arrested for driving without a license, Lara said.
Lara said 25 warnings were issued to Merced County drivers during the enforcement period.
All law enforcement agencies in Merced County participated in the cell phone enforcement campaign.
Never miss a local story.
Lara said a total of 2,088 citations were issued in the Central Valley during the enforcement period, along with 67 citations for texting and 196 warnings.
Merced CHP reported that 13 crashes last year involved cell phone use.
The base fine for the first cell phone offense is $20 and $50 for later convictions. Still, Lara said the addition of court and other fees push the fines well above $100.
The hand-held wireless telephone law, or no talking on a cell phone while driving, took effect in California in 2008. Californians are allowed to use a hands-free device to talk while driving. The no-texting law took effect in January 2009.
Reporter Victor A. Patton can be reached at (209) 385-2431 or email@example.com