Two area runners claim sub-section titles

November 9, 2013 

— Sonora High's Steven Grolle and Riverbank's Mikayla Florez won Sac-Joaquin Sub-Section cross country titles Saturday at the Calaveras County Fairgrounds.

In addition, three Stanislaus District schools brought home championship banners. In all, 18 district teams advanced to Saturday's Sac-Joaquin Section meet at Willow Hill near Folsom High School. The top 10 individuals (who aren't on one of those 10 teams) also advance.

Grolle won the boys Division 4 race in a time of 16 minutes, 41 seconds, which placed the Wildcats fifth in the team standings.

Hughson's boys won the Division 4 team crown, with Zach Morrett (17:13) leading the way. Luis Figueroa (17:23) helped Riverbank to fourth place and Ripon was sixth, led by Alex Norling (17:12).

Modesto High's boys advanced in Division 1 with a sixth-place finish and Marc Alania was the Panthers' lead runner, finishing seventh overall in 16:51.

In D3, Sierra's Josh Spooner (16:29) propelled the Timberwolves' boys to an eighth-place finish, while Haley Silva (20:01) helped Sierra's girls to sixth place. Riverbank claimed the Division 4 girls championship thanks to Florez, who broke the tape in 19:28.

Calaveras' Hannah Hull finished second, 25 seconds off Florez's pace. Ellie Waters (20:15) led Ripon to fourth place.

Modesto Christian's girls brought home the D5 banner, led by freshmen sisters Nicole Warwick (third in 21.59) and Megan Warwick (fourth in 22:32). Their teammate, Jessica Groin, finished in eighth (23:56).

Others qualifying for the next week's section meet include Golden Valley's Mariyah Banks (20:16, D1 girls), Patterson's Nathan Stanton (16:47, D3 boys) and Bret Harte's Tristan Boblet (17:08, D4 boys).

Modesto Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service