Filing closes for most races; still time for Modesto Irrigation District

kcarlson@modbee.comAugust 9, 2013 

    alternate textKen Carlson
    Title: Staff writer
    Coverage areas: County government, health and medicine, air quality, the environment and public pension systems
    Bio: Ken Carlson has worked 13 years for The Bee, covering local government agencies in Stanislaus and San Joaquin counties. His in-depth reporting has focused on access to health care and public employee pensions.
    Recent stories written by Ken

Three open seats on the Modesto Irrigation District board continued to lure candidates this week, and there is time for others to step forward because none of the incumbents are running.

Brad Johnson, an electronic technician, declared he's a candidate for the Division 4 slot, joining a race including Jim Mortensen, Jake Wenger and Ted Donham.

Former Modesto Mayor Carmen Sabatino declared for the Division 2 contest, setting up a race with John Mensinger. The candidates in Division 3 are Paul Campbell and Les Johnson.

The filing period for MID board seats extends to Wednesday, because incumbents Glen Wild (Division 2), Tom Van Groningen (3) and Paul Warda (4) are not running.

Friday was the last day for filing for local board and council positions on the Nov. 5 ballot, unless incumbents are not seeking another term. The filing period continues for two of the three Modesto City Council seats.

Lee Lundrigan, county registrar of voters, said quite a few people turned in papers Friday, requiring staff to work well into the evening to process the papers and update the lists.

Here is an update of candidates as of Friday:

• Modesto City Council District 2 — Jon Rodriguez has completed the paperwork and Tony Madrigal is a second candidate, pending verification of petition signatures. Juan Telles has pulled papers. Incumbent Dave Geer is not seeking re-election.

• Modesto Council District 4 — Three candidates have completed the paperwork, including Bill Zoslocki, Rickey McGill and Ryan Schambers. Juan Melgoza returned papers and was waiting for verification. Incumbent Joe Muratore is not running.

• Modesto Council District 5 — Incumbent Stephanie Burnside is facing challenger Jenny Ketchum Kenoyer in a reprise of the 2011 election.

• Modesto City Schools board, four-year terms — Incumbents Sue Zwahlen, Ruben Villalobos and Cindy Marks and challenger Brett McBay have completed the paperwork. Potential challengers Michael Scheid and David Allan have pulled papers. Incumbent Nancy Cline is not running.

• Modesto school board, two-year term — Dean Smeltzer, Charlie Grom, Jordan Dickson and Fabiola Garcia have completed the paperwork. Appointee Stacie Morales is not running.

• Ceres City Council (two seats) — Incumbent Ken Lane is unopposed for one seat. For the second seat, Hugo Molina has completed the paperwork and Lynda Ryno and Condon McConville have pulled papers. Incumbent Eric Ingwerson is not running.

• Waterford City Council — Joshua Whitfield has completed the paperwork for election to fill the final year of an unexpired term. Keith Self is the second candidate, pending verification of paperwork.

• Stanislaus County Board of Education — Area 1: Incumbent Kim Rose declared; Area 2: No candidate has declared; Area 5: Adriana Garcia and Bob Vizzolini declared.

• Ceres school board — All four of the incumbents declared: Mike Welsh, Area 2; Valli Wigt, Area 3; Lourdes Perez, Area 5; and Betty Sue Davis, Area 6.

• Empire school board — Three candidates for three openings: incumbents Patty Shafer and Doug Bentley and former trustee Nick Bavaro.

• Denair school board full term — Four declared candidates for two openings: Sandi Dirkse, Robert Hodges, Travis "T.J." Lake and Troy Hirschkorn.

• Denair school board short term — One opening; Kathi Dunham-Filson and Joel Sanders declared.

• Oakdale school board — Four candidates for three openings in Area 2: incumbents Mike House and Diane Gilbert, and Joe Peterson and Barbara Shook.

• Riverbank school board — Five candidates for three openings: incumbent Elizabeth Meza, Patrick Hagan, Susan Taylor, Suzanne Dean and Charles E. Neal.

• Sylvan school board — The three incumbents have declared: Terriann Zeek, George Rawe and Cyndi Lindsey.

• Turlock Unified school board Area 2 — Incumbent Tami Harrill- Muniz and Deborah Martin declared.

• Turlock school board Area 4 — Incumbent Bob Weaver declared.

• Turlock school board Area 6 — Joe Lewis and Jennifer Carter declared.

• Turlock Irrigation District Division 2 — Incumbent Charles Fernandes declared.

• TID Division 3 — Incumbent Joe Alamo and Daniel Agundez declared.

• TID Division 5 — Incumbent Ron Macedo and Darrel Monroe declared.

The complete list of Stanislaus County openings and those who have declared is available at Click on Candidates/Measures in the menu on the left.

Modesto Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service

Top Jobs

Find a Home

$299,900 Modesto
4 bed. Beyond Beautiful! Newly remodeled so you can move...

Find a Car

Search New Cars