Many Stanislaus County races lack candidates

local@modbee.comJuly 26, 2013 

— Halfway through the regular four-week filing period, no candidates have emerged for many of the seats to be filled in the Nov. 5 election.

The dearth of candidates is most evident on fire and other special district boards and for municipal advisory councils, the bodies that advise the Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors on issues in their unincorporated communities.

Candidates have until Aug. 9 to file, except in cases where an incumbent is not seeking re-election. In those instances, the filing period is extended through Aug. 14.

Here is a recap of the candidates so far:

Modesto City Council District 2 — Three people have pulled papers: Jon Rodriguez, Tony Madrigal and Juan Telles. A fourth person was declared ineligible because she had not been registered to vote in the city for 30 days. Incumbent Dave Geer is not seeking re-election.

Modesto Council District 4 — Three have pulled papers: Bill Zoslocki, Juan Melgoza and Rickey McGill. Incumbent Joe Muratore is not running.

Modesto Council District 5 — Challenger Jenny Ketchum Kenoyer has completed the paperwork. Incumbent Stephanie Burnside had not pulled papers but plans to run again.

Modesto City Schools board, four-year terms — Three incumbents, Sue Zwahlen, Ruben A. Villalobos and Cindy Marks, have pulled papers, as well as three challengers, Brett McBay, Dean Smeltzer and Michael D. Scheid.

Modesto school board, two-year term — No one has pulled papers.

Modesto Irrigation District Division 2 — John Mensinger has declared. Incumbent Glen Wild is not running.

MID Division 3 — Paul Campbell and Les Johnson have declared. Incumbent Tom Van Groningen is not running.

MID Division 4 — Jim Mortensen, Jake Wenger and Ted Donham have declared. Incumbent Paul Warda is not running.

Ceres City Council (two seats) — Councilman Ken Lane has pulled papers to run for re-election.

Stanislaus County Board of Education — Areas 1, 2 and 5 are up; no one has pulled papers.

Ceres school board — Incumbents have at least started the paperwork in each of the four areas: Mike Welsh, Area 2; Valli Wigt, Area 3; Lourdes Perez, Area 5; and Betty Sue Davis, Area 6. There are no challengers so far.

Empire school board — There are two candidates so far for three openings: incumbent Patty Shafer and former trustee Nick Bavaro.

Denair school board full term — Two openings; Sandi Dirkse has declared.

Denair school board short term — One opening; Kathi Dunham-Filson has declared.

Oakdale school board — Three candidates so far in Area 2: incumbents Mike House and Diane Gilbert and Joe Peterson.

Riverbank school board — Three openings; no one has declared.

Sylvan school board — The three incumbents have declared: Terriann Zeek, George Rawe and Cyndi Lindsey.

Turlock Unified school board Area 2 — Incumbent Tami Harrill- Muniz has declared.

Turlock school board Area 4 — Incumbent Bob Weaver has declared.

Turlock school board Area 6 — Joe Lewis has declared.

Turlock Irrigation District Division 2 — Incumbent Charles Fernandes has declared.

TID Division 3 — Incumbent Joe Alamo has declared.

TID Division 5 — Incumbent Ron Macedo has declared.

The complete list of Stanislaus County openings and those who have declared so far is available at Click on "Candidates/measures" in the menu on the left.

Modesto Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service

Find a Home

$169,900 Modesto
3 bed, 2 full bath, 1 half bath. Move in ready 3BD/2. 5BA...

Find a Car

Search New Cars