Turlock schools leader a finalist for national award

July 11, 2013 

— Turlock Unified Superintendent Sonny Da Marto was one of five finalists for 2013 National Superintendent of the Year.

The National Association of School Superintendents website names the winner as Don Haddad, superintendent of St. Vrain Valley Schools in Longmont, Colo.

Da Marto, described on the association website as “a consummate professional starring at home and influencing his state,” shares finalist honors with Sandra Smyser of Eagle County School District in Eagle, Colo.; Brett Stanton of Haralson County Schools in Tallapoosa, Ga.; and James Capolupo of Springfield School District, Springfield, Penn.

Modesto Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service